My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

I did it!

on February 3, 2012

So I’ve been going to the gym for a couple of weeks. I’m trying to go 3 times a week, but I don’t want to push myself too hard. I’m still just using the treadmill. I started by making little goals for myself, seeing how much I could do. I used 3 categories — time, incline, and speed. I started with 30 minutes, then 40, then 50, then 60. I wasn’t sure how long it would take me to get to 60 minutes, but I was determined to get there. So then I looked at incline. The first day I went o the gym with Sharlene, I did an incline of 2.0, so I thought that would be a good place to start. The incline goes up by .5 each time, so I set my goals for 2.0, 2.5, 3.0, and 3.5. I decided to work in groups of 4 goals. Again, I don’t want to push myself too hard. I don’t want to get discouraged or worse, get hurt. So now I had to look at speed. That first day, I did a speed of 1.3. Not bad for my first try, but I knew I could do better. So I set my goals for 1.3, 1.5, 1.8, and 2.0. So today was my 9th trip to the gym, and I completed all my goals!! The last and most difficult was the 60 minutes. I am so proud of myself! I’m not sure I’ll be able to do that every time I go, but I’m happy I did it. Now to increase my incline and speed again. I think if I do between 40 and 60 minutes, and increase incline and speed every few times, I’ll get a really good workout. Or at least I hope so.

Next up: trying other machines and the pool đŸ™‚

2 responses to “I did it!

  1. Lori Sprenkels says:

    Thanks for sharing this with me! I’m very excited for you and proud of you accomplishments so far! Keep up the good work. Thanks for the encouragement!! I hope I can help motivate you also!.

    Don’t know if it will help but here are a few tricks that help me!

    You mentioned about not drinking enough, something I do is ,if I want a treat (Chocolate, pop, etc) I have to drink a full glass of water before I have the treat.

    When I get a sugar craving I try to eat grapes or pineapple or suck on a piece of dark chocolate.

    Hope this helps and If there is anything I can help with, let me know.

  2. Jeff says:

    Drinking water is a great idea.. It was one of the ways I try and fill myself up before a big meal. or When I know I’m going to totally blow it, like when we go out for Chinese food. There are ways to still have sweet, just replace. Like Fat Free or Sugar Free Hot Cocoa instead of the real stuff. I go for Sugar Free desserts if I can, they have usually a lot less carbs, although they still aren’t “good” they are just better options. But the biggest change I did initially, was to have fruit instead of the bad sweets (cookies, etc) – I replaced with Grapes, Raisins, Apples, Bananas, Strawberries. Grapes, Raisins and Strawberries especially are high on the sweet scale. Now I also have Fat Free Pudding (Chocolate and Tapioca), Sugar Free Rice Pudding (It only has 70 calories and 1g of Fat per serving). I’m seriously addicted to Grapes and Raisins, but as long as it keeps me away from cookies and brownies, Its all good đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

