My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Unstuck…

on January 22, 2012

Awhile ago I posted that I was stuck. My progress was derailed and I didn’t know how to get back on track. I was stuck. It felt like I would never get out of it, get back on track. I felt like I was in a fog for months. I’m sure most had to do with losing my mom. That still hurts. A lot. But I’m working through it. Christmas was difficult. Every time I went shopping for gifts, I’d see something I would want to buy her or something I thought she would love and my heart would just ache. But somehow, with the new year came a new beginning. I felt unstuck for the first time. I still miss her every day, but I’m feeling better. I hope sometimes she’s looking down on me and smiling. I hope she knows how much I love her and miss her. I hope she is happy about the things going on in my life and how well I’m doing.

So how am I doing? Pretty well I think. This is what’s been going on …

I had another followup with my oncologist. I don’t mind seeing him. I’ll do just about anything to keep the cancer from coming back. They always weigh me at the start of my appointment. In the 6 months since my last appointment, I lost 40 pounds! Very proud of myself!

And Dan and I are participating in a weight loss challenge that is a fundraiser for our local hospital. A few years ago, I would not have done something like this. I’m not necessarily looking to win. But I am looking to be healthier. We continue to make lifestyle changes and try to eat as healthy as we can.

I’ve given up soft drinks. That’s a big step for me. I was down to basically just drinking ginger ale, but I’m not drinking that anymore either. I did have some around christmas only because I had a severely upset stomach. But other than that, I haven’t had any since early december. I’m trying to drink more water. I still don’t drink as much as I should, but getting better at it.

The other big news is I joined a gym! With the weight loss challenge that we are doing, we got some free passes. One of my best friends, Sharlene, is a member of one of the gyms. I went with her one day and I liked it. I went a few more times by myself and after my free pass expired, I joined. I did a year membership. Now I have to go to justify the cost of it LOL. It’s a smaller gym, which I like. I prefer to workout with fewer people around. So far I have only used the treadmill, but they have a nice pool I want to use. And some other machines I want to try out as well. I’m pretty excited about this. I don’t want to push myself too much, but if I go at least 3 times a week, I think I’ll do well. Plus I have a small exercise machine I bought. It’s basically the pedals of a stationary bike. I can use it with my legs or arms. I try to use it as least twice a day. I’m also trying to add in a couple extra trips up and down the stairs throughout the day. It all adds up in the end.

I’m keeping a food journal as well. It keeps me from over doing it. But I don’t deny myself anything. If I want a chocolate bar, I have one. Everything in moderation.

So overall, I think I’m doing pretty well. And feeling pretty good too. It’s all about being a healthier me.

Leave a Reply

