My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

Progress

on June 15, 2011

OK so it’s been about a week since I set my goals. I think it’s going pretty good so far. The eating slower goal is a bit easier than I anticipated. Got some great tips from my friend Jeff and they really work! I’ve cut back on the portion sizes a bit too. It’s relatively easy to do that at home, it will be interesting to see what happens next time I go out to eat. I’ve gone out for a walk 3 times in the last week. The first day it took approximately 45 minutes. I forgot to look at the clock when I started so I can’t be 100% sure on the time, but I was listening to my ipod and I finished 10 songs by the time I got back to my house. Two days later, I went out again and this time it only took 9 songs! I remembered to look at the clock and it took me about 35-40 minutes. I waited 3 days before I went again. This time my dad went with me. We did a different walk than I had been doing. We walked down to my local farmers market. The walk was at least twice as long. I was really tired by the time we got back. I have to remember to take a drink out with me too. I did the first 2 times, but forgot the last time. It really makes a difference. I haven’t gone out for a walk in a few days, but that’s because I’m gearing up for the Relay For Life walk this friday. I’ll be doing A LOT of walking then! I look forward to this every year. It’s just such an amazing event. Anyway, back to my progress.

I’m really trying to eat better. I mean I was already doing that, but I’m trying to do even better. It’s not always easy. I love to cook, but I’m not always a very confident cook, if that makes any sense. Sometimes I’m afraid what I make is not going to taste good or come out the way I intended. I really need to get better at that. And sometimes I just don’t feel like cooking, so it’s easier to call for pizza or get take out somewhere. Eating out is okay once in a while, but I can’t make a habit out of it. Dan and I are going camping in a few weeks, so not sure how that is going help my trying to eat better and with portion control. Guess I’ll find out.

I’m still considering getting an exercise machine for the house. I’m trying to weigh the cost of one against how much I will use it. I would hate to spend a bunch on money on something and then rarely use it. Although Dan might get good use of it as well. I thought about joining a gym, but I’m too self conscious for that, at least right now.

 

Leave a Reply

