My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

New goals

on June 6, 2011

I decided it’s time I made some goals. Trying to be healthier is a goal in itself, but I need small, manageable goals so I know where I’m going.

So my first goal is EXERCISING.

This is the toughest for me because I’m not the most active person. I have asthma, which makes it hard to be too active sometimes. I also have a heel spur in my foot, which makes it hard to be on my feet for long periods of time. I’m basically a shy person and pretty self conscious, so I’m not sure I could join a gym, even ones specifically for women. I’ve considered buying an exercise machine so I can workout at home, but I have concerns about that — 1) what if I don’t like the machine I buy; 2) what if I only use it for a little while and then stop; 3) it’s a lot of money to spend. So I finally I decided I’ll start small and work my way up. Just like with that changes I made with my food, if I start small with the exercising as well, I’m more likely to stick with it and even do more. Having said all that, I’ve decided to start with walking. Easy enough. At least I hope so. My goal is to go for a walk at least 3 times each week. If I feel like doing more, great! If not, that’s fine too, as long as I get my 3 per week in.

So today is Day 1 of my new walking goal. My “usual” routine is to get up whenever I feel like it, take a shower, get dressed, make myself something to eat and park myself in front of my computers and tv for most of the day. But today was different. I woke up a little earlier than I usually do, took my shower, got dressed and decided to start the day with a walk. It was already pretty warm outside, but pushed myself out the door any way. I had my ipod with me, so I cranked it up, started playing some of my favourite songs and just started walking. I didn’t want to push myself too much on my first day. I ended up walking about 6 blocks and it took me about an hour. (I forgot to look at the clock when I started, so I don’t know exactly how long it was). I felt pretty good when I got home! I’m very proud of myself 🙂 Hopefully I can keep it up.

My second goal is PORTION CONTROL.

Again, another tough one. I think I need to learn to eat smaller meals throughout the day, instead of larger ones. I have specific bowls I like to use to eat my cereal. When I got back from my walk, I was pretty hungry. I went to grab the bowl I would normally use, but stopped myself. I opted for smaller bowl instead. It may not sound like a big deal, but to me it is. Now I just need to work that into other meals as well.

My third goal is to EAT SLOWER.

No brainer, right? Not so much. I grew up eating fast. I don’t remember people making a big deal of eating slowly back then. It’s what I’m used to. But I know I need to change that. I’ve tried it before and it worked for a while, but then I’d go back to what I’m used to. I think I need to take it one meal at a time. And if I don’t remember right away, not to beat myself up over it.

All of this is learning curve. It takes a while to change behavior. I’m trying to change my life for the better. And after basically doing the same things for 40 years, changes don’t happen overnight.

So anyway, those are my new goals. Hopefully I can keep them up. Stay tuned.

One response to “New goals

  1. Jeff says:

    You are doing everything right! Keep it up!!! I did all of the same things..and continue to.

    Here are some things that worked for me.

    For Portion Control
    -Use Small Plates/Bowls.
    -Whatever you expect to eat, cut the portion in half and that should fill you.
    -If you take seconds, make it a salad or veggie dish – not a meat dish
    -When you snack, use Fruits and Veggies

    Slowing Down
    -Take a Sip of Water/Drink between every bite
    -When you take a bite, put the fork down and chew. Take a sip of water. when you have completely swallowed it, then pick up the fork again.
    (It sounds so basic..but it really works)

Leave a Reply

