My journey to a healthier me

Tales of my life

The beginning…

on June 1, 2011

Well this isn’t actually the beginning. My journey started almost 2 years ago. Let me give you some background…

In August 2009 I was diagnosed with uterine cancer. It was undoubtedly the worst day of my life. I never thought I would be sitting in a doctor’s office listening to those words, but there I was. I was very lucky though. My cancer was found very early. Two months after my diagnosis, I had a complete hysterectomy to remove the cancer. I did not need any chemotherapy or radiation and I have regular followups with my oncologist. I’m happy to say I’m cancer-free.

And I want to stay that way. So I decided I need to make some changes in my life. I have always been heavy, even as a child. I had really bad asthma when I was young and that kept me pretty inactive. I was also painfully shy. And because of that, I ate a lot. I won’t say how heavy I was at my peak, but let’s just say it was a big number.

Anyway, after the cancer diagnosis, I knew I need to make changes. Actually, I’d known for a long time that I need to change, but this gave me the absolute push I need to do it. I wasn’t really sure where to start. I decided to make small changes to start with because I knew that if I tried to change too much too quickly, there was a good chance the changes wouldn’t stick. So these are some of the first things I did:

For the last almost 13 years, I’ve eaten mostly vegetarian because I’m married to one. I would rarely cook meat at home, unless it was in a tv dinner or something like that. One of the first things we did was stop buying tv dinners and many other processed foods.

I stopped eating sugar cereals. My cereal of choice is now Special K.

I switched from 2% milk to Soy milk. (I don’t think there is not that much of a taste difference between regular milk and soy milk)

I cut WAY back on the amount of pop I drink. I drink mostly ginger ale, although I let myself have regular ones when I want one.

I am cooking more at home instead of eating out so much. My sister in law Trish is a fabulous cook and I’ve learned a lot of new recipes from her.

I eat a lot more fruits and veggies. I try to be creative with salads especially.

I’ve cut WAY back on the sweets as well. (This one is a hard one for me because I’m a chocoholic)

It may not sound like a lot, but it really made a difference. After my surgery, when I could move around better, I tried to walk more. It’s amazing how much better I was feeling. I hadn’t realized how sick I really was. I am so blessed to have such great doctors.

Anyway, at my first check up with my oncologist, I was amazed to find I had already lost like 30 pounds! I was so excited!! At my next followup, I had lost even more! To date, I have lost approximately 50 pounds. I think that’s pretty good considering I only made small changes. I have even had to buy clothes in smaller sizes. I have a long way to go, but I’m on my way! I know I need help continuing my journey. I plan to discuss it all with my regular doctor at my next visit. I’m excited to continue my journey to a healthier me 🙂

Just a quick note to conclude this post: I would like to thank my friend Jeff Z. who is on his own journey to be healthier, and who has inspired me to continue mine. Thanks, Jeff. Your support means the world to me.

Leave a Reply

